Nobel Prize in economics awarded to David Card, Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens

Ted Spiegel | Corbis Documentary | Getty

Economists David Card, Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens have been awarded the Nobel Prize in economics.

Card was recognized for his contributions to labor economics, while Angrist and Imbens won the award for their contributions to the analysis of causal relationships.

Last year, Stanford University economists Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson were awarded the prize for their “improvements to auction theory and invention of new auction formats.”

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel comes with a 10 million Swedish krona ($1.1 million) cash prize and a gold medal.

This is a breaking news story and will be updated shortly.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Merck asks FDA to authorize antiviral Covid pill for emergency use

Mon Oct 11 , 2021
The Merck logo at the Merck campus in Rahway, New Jersey. Brendan McDermid | Reuters Merck said Monday it asked the Food and Drug Administration to authorize emergency use of its experimental antiviral pill to treat mild-to-moderate Covid-19 in adults. The U.S. drugmaker’s request came after phase three clinical trial […]